It’s a bird! No… it’s a plane! No, it’s Krystian!!!

As if our lives aren’t adventurous enough, did we mention that Krystian is a student pilot??  Well, he is and we have been wanting to post about the completion of his first solo flight!

Since Krystian is on his way to super pilot stardom, he is going to take over the blog for a few minutes.

Hello all!  Had I known that it was possible to become a super pilot without having to join the military then my student loans could possibly be significantly less than they are now!

I have had a fascination with flying ever since I had my first close encounter with an airliner jet at the age of 5.  Flying was never feasible in my head until I “re-met” my good friend Russell (from Little Rock, AR).  While working together, we would talk about airplanes and Russell would share stories of him and his grandfather building an airplane that Russell later learned to fly.

At any rate, roughly a little over a year and a half ago I took my very first flight lesson and it was everything I thought it would be and then some.  Progress has been slow initially but knowledge and passion never digressed.  Now, we are on a fast track to get ourselves in the air and Mary has been an amazing cheer leader and documentary maker (photos and videos are courtesy of my beautiful wife to be).  I started out flying a Cessna 152 and occasionally the 172 and went through 5 instructors before landing on the current super instructor, Nick.  While I was passionate about flying, I was not excited about my instructors.  Then, after not having flown for a little while, I went in for a lesson hoping to land an awesome instructor that was passionate about what he did.  Being the firm believer in the law of attraction that I am, it was not too surprising when I see Nick and I knew that he was going to be the CFI to license me and get me on my way to becoming a super pilot.

Now, captain Nick has me flying a Piper Warrior 151 and the experience is amazing.  I performed my first solo recently on April 29, 2013.  The way Nick presented the solo to me will stick with me forever.

Piper Warrior 8410C

Taxiing out for my first solo flight/take off.  Piper Warrior 8410C at KJKA, Gulf Shores, AL.

Taxiing out for my first solo flight/take off. Piper Warrior 8410C at KJKA, Gulf Shores, AL.

So the lesson on the day of the solo was pretty routine, touch and go’s on runway 09.  I was off work and anticipated flying for awhile that day.  After the 7th touch and go, as we were on downwind for runway 09, Nick kindly requests me to make a full stop landing vs. the touch and go I was planning, I was almost a bit perturbed, but I trust him.  Nick also said that he would inform me as to why we are doing a full stop when we get on the ground.  After turning base and final, while on short final (about 100 feet or so off the ground) Nick tells me that I am going to perform my first solo and that is why he needs me to do a full stop.  Talk about a little pressure during a landing.

For those that are unfamiliar with a solo, this is the first time that a student pilot flies with no one else in the airplane with them.  Soo…this was the first time that I flew by myself.  I was required to perform 3 take offs and 3 full stop landings and control the radios with only yours truly in the cockpit!  While it was a bit unnerving not having a safety nest in the cockpit (my CFI), it was a turning point and a confidence builder in my budding super pilot career.

Stepping out of the cockpit after my first solo flight!

Stepping out of the cockpit after my first solo flight!

My super pilot/instructor and friend, Nick H.

My super pilot/instructor and friend, Nick H.

After all the hard work I look forward to the “pilot’s life” that Mary and I are trying to accomplish.  We look forward to and enjoy every flight.  When all is said and done with flight school, we look forward to sharing flight with our family and close friends.  And the fact the I get to flight train over the beach here in Pleasure Island, Alabama, is just icing on the cake.

Downwind runway 27 of the ICW/Canal, Gulf Shores, AL.

Downwind runway 27 of the ICW/Canal, Gulf Shores, AL.

Scenic Flight over the beach in Gulf Shores, AL before maneuver training over the bay.

e Scenic Flight over the beach in Gulf Shores, AL before maneuver training over the bay.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my flying.  I/we look forward to sharing our flight experiences with you all as we are very passionate about our new upcoming flying ventures…stay tuned to “Fly the Krystian Skies!” with us.

Leave a Reply

